My Interview with Dustin Runnels aka Goldust

WWE-Superstar-Goldust-04

As anyone who knows me will tell you, I am a massive WWE/WWF fan. I started watching Monday Night Raw when I was 5 years old with my older brother and have been hooked ever since. I understand fully that wrestling is an acquired taste and before anyone decides to chime in, yes, I am fully aware that it is ‘fake’. In fact I never had any illusions about this as even when I was 5 years young I never truly believed that what I was watching was ‘real’. I believed that it was an incredibly skilful, physical and potentially dangerous art-form that requires years of physical and mental dedication to do safely and in an entertaining manner and it was for that reason that I became such a big fan and also why I still am today.

On this subject, what constitutes ‘fake’ anyway? Do the guys in the ring genuinely hate each other? It’s possible, do they dress and act in the same way in the ring as they do in day-to-day life? You would be surprised, and do they actually mean to inflict actual bodily harm on each other? Almost certainly not. However the show they put on took days of practice, meticulous planning and hard work to choreograph, the performers almost certainly were left physically strained and in a great deal of pain and that’s only if the whole thing went off without a hitch, a very rare occurrence, and you’ll struggle to find a more ‘real’ thing than the roars of enjoyment from the crowds who pack venues across the globe to see it in person. Yes, it’s ‘fixed’ but guess what so is Twilight, so is Family Guy, so is most Italian Football and so is Katie Price but know body brands these subjects in the same way and anybody who calls wrestling ‘fake’ and therefore pointless but then goes home and watches Made in Chelsea seriously needs to re-think their argument.

Hoping off my soap box before this piece is rejected for being too angry, word reached my ridiculously-too-large-for-the-size-of-my-head ears that a number of professional wrestlers would be attending Wrexham’s Comic Con event this year. Needless to say I was thrilled and through a combination of persistence and dumb luck I managed to secure a Press Pass for the event and hoped to obtain an interview or two.

My main target was Dustin Runnels, the Hardcore Legend Mick Foley was also present but I knew that getting anywhere near him would be nigh-on impossible and besides that I was always a huge fan of Mr Runnels. During his time in WWE/F Runnels portrayed the character of Goldust a bizarre, maniacal and surprisingly creepy individual obsessed by Hollywood cinema, beautiful women and dispatching opponents in a number of creative and sometimes brutal ways.

I and my camera man and good friend Rob Stead entered the venue, shook a few hands and awaited the arrival of Dustin Runnels. The stats, 6,6 and 249lbs really are nothing more than simple stats until you see them in person. Mr Runnels appeared at his table wearing his trade mark face paint and in a ‘now or never’ style move we approached and asked for an interview. What surprised me the most wasn’t the fact that he said yes but the fact that he agreed to do it right there and then and sure enough around 6 minutes later I had a full interview with one of my childhood hero’s under my belt.

It’s all too easy to big-up your hero’s because their just that but despite being tired Dustin Runnels came across as very likeable and laid back, unfortunately I just come across in the video as very nervous but truth be told I was.

I hope you enjoy the interview, regardless of a few of my slip-ups and what not. Notable topics discussed are Goldust’s WWE return at this year’s Royal Rumble event, his thoughts on how WWE are using his brother Cody Rhodes and Damian Sandow and Goldust’s famous Parking Lot Brawl match with Roddy Piper.

Leave a Reply

